T509- Massive: Online Network Participation Rubric

Personal Compass:  I am always trying to find ways to facilitate adult learning and professional and organizational development. I was attracted by the use of EdTech even in course shopping and knew this would be an exciting and fun class to take. I had taken Karen Brennan’s T553: Teacher Learning and Technology last spring. I was not impressed during our exploration of current MOOCs. However, I did see that MOOCs have great potential.

Now that I am in the class (and taking T510 Data Science in Education at the same time) I am realizing that one of EdTech’s greatest strengths is the ability to connect learners over distances and to let people share what they learn in order to learn themselves. In the last decade I learned that I learn best by doing (Illych!).

Last spring when I took a course (at HKS) I was told “If you’re going to speak in class today, be succinct.” and “You participated way too much in the online conversation.” I disagreed with the professor then and I do now. I learn best by discussing, sharing, and teaching! This is difficult in large classes, of course, where the 1/number of people in the class rule should apply. I find that I epiphanies start but can’t quite form because I can’t get the thought out of my brain and into the world. Using Twitter in class helps… I can still get my thoughts out there (succinctly!) without bugging people too much (they can always block me). Sometimes I even get replies!

Participation Commitments  Foster connectivist tech tools and perspective in the courses that I facilitate and participate in. Live in the #T509massive community and contribute to others’ learning by listening, engaging, sharing, participating. Use a variety of tech tools and figure out which best help me retain what I’m learning/learn more and get my findings out to the world in a tangible way.

Participation Rubric

Criteria What would Awesome Look Like? Meets Expectation Underperforms Expectation
Start a classroom salon and invite class there to discuss readings. I am able to share facilitation duties and at least 5 class members voluntarily stick with Classroom Salon, having lively discussions and Eureka moments throughout the semester I create and facilitate a classroom salon which 3-5 class members try out for one week’s worth of readings. I create and facilitate a salon and no one participates but me. : (
Live in the #T509massive community and contribute to others’ learning by listening, reading, engaging, sharing, participating. I read and tweet inspiring articles and write in my blog at least 2X a week. Every week I participate in #T509 tweet chat and tweet risky, thought-provoking comments in class. I scan and comment on other’s contributions once a day. I listen carefully to others in the class and don’t comment unless it carries the conversation forward. I do 50% of everything on the list to the left but my participation is not helpful to others. I do 25% of what’s on the list and my participation hinders others.
Use a variety of tech tools and figure out which best help me retain what I’m learning/learn more and get my findings out to the world in a tangible way. I explore 10 tech tools and incorporate 2 of them in the university-wide research administration certificate (REACH) program and the responsible conduct of research (RCR) class that will take place in January. I survey the classes and blog about how they worked. I explore 5 tech tools and incorporate 1 of them either in the REACH program or the RCR Class. I blog about them. I explore 5 tech tools and don’t use them for any other classes.

One thought on “T509- Massive: Online Network Participation Rubric

Leave a Reply

