OK, so here’s my final rubric T509… participation and career exploration

T509 MASSIVE Personal Participation Rubric — October 8, 2014

I’ve italicized the things that I’ve changed from my previous post

Personal Compass:  I am always trying to find ways to facilitate adult learning and professional and organizational development. I was attracted by the use of EdTech even in course shopping and knew this would be an exciting and fun class to take. I had taken Karen Brennan’s T553: Teacher Learning and Technology last spring. I was not impressed during our exploration of current MOOCs. However, I did see that MOOCs have great potential.Now that I am in the class (and taking T510 Data Science in Education at the same time) I am realizing that one of EdTech’s greatest strengths is the ability to connect learners over distances and to let people share what they learn in order to learn themselves.

Last spring when I took a course (at HKS) I was told “If you’re going to speak in class today, be succinct.” and “You participated way too much in the online conversation.” I disagreed with the professor then and I do now. I learn best by doing, discussing, sharing, and teaching! This is difficult in large classes, of course, where the 1/number of people in the class rule should apply. I find that I start to get epiphanies but can’t quite form them because I can’t get the thought out of my brain and into the world. Using Twitter in class helps… I can still get my thoughts out there (succinctly!) without bugging people too much (they can always block me). Sometimes I even get replies!

By the end of class I’d like to have a really good overview of what EdTech is and how it is currently being incorporated into the world. Most importantly, though, I would like to find a way to improve implementation of EdTech in everyday life for myself and others. Next semester I’ll be looking for a job. First and foremost I know that I want to work in a fast-paced, creative environment with brilliant and collaborative people. I suspect that EdTech would be a good way to go. I just don’t know what my learning gaps are and what types of things I might be right for, given the experience that I already have.

Participation Commitments  Live in the #T509massive community and contribute to others’ learning by listening, engaging, sharing, participating. Use a variety of tech tools, ranking them, and getting my findings out to the world in a tangible way. Learn more about what opportunities in EdTech are out there and which might be right for me.

Participation Rubric

Criteria What would Awesome Look Like? Meets Expectation Underperforms Expectation
Live in the #T509massive community and contribute to others’ learning by listening, reading, engaging, sharing, participating. I read and tweet inspiring articles and write in my blog at least 2X a week. Every week I participate in #T509 tweet chat and tweet risky, thought-provoking comments there and in class. I scan and comment on other’s contributions at least 2 times a week. I listen carefully to others in the class and don’t comment unless it carries the conversation forward. I do 50% of everything on the list to the left but my participation is not helpful to others. I listen carefully to others in the class and try to keep my comments to 1/n. I do 25% of what’s in the Awesome column and my participation hinders others.
Foster the use of connectivist tech tools in courses I facilitate and participate in. Incorporate 2 tech tools in the university-wide research administration certificate (REACH) program.   Survey/ask the participants and blog about what the class said. Incorporate 1 tech tool in the REACH program. Blog about the experience. I explore 5 tech tools and don’t use them for any other classes and don’t really document my use of them.
Use a variety of tech tools, ranking them, and getting my findings out to the world in a tangible way. Explore 10 tech tools and blog about them, present them to a group. Come up with a matrix of that will compare them across criteria like ease of use, possible uses, how they help, and what type of learners they would be best with. Get comments from people saying that it was helpful. Explore 10 tech tools, incorporate some of them into my own learning, and blog about them to try to get others to utilize them. Explore tech tools, incorporate some into my learning.
Learn more about what opportunities in EdTech are out there and which might be right for me. Reach out to colleagues in class to get their takes on a career in EdTech. Decide whether or not I should pursue a job in EdTech and, if yes, come up with a plan for the spring to get the necessary experience and education. Talk to Justin and see what he thinks about this plan. Set up 5 informational interviews and go on at least 2 before December. Set up 6 informational interviews and go on two of them

Leave a Reply

